July 2016

  • Dr. Michael Soniat joins the lab as a postdoctoral scientist!

  • May 2016

  • Brianna Gonzalez is named a Dean’s Honored Graduate.

  • Jeff Schaub joins the lab!

  • April 2016

  • Congrats to Ignacio and Logan on their latest PNAS paper on Exonuclease 1!

  • Steven Jones is awarded the NIH F32 (NRSA) postdoctoral fellowship.

  • March 2016

  • Armando & Yoori just posted our first-ever bioRxiv manuscript: Multi-site internal modification of long DNA substrates for single-molecule studies.

  • Congratulations to Dr. Ignacio Gallardo for being selected to present his work on DNA repair at the annual Molecular Biosciences department retreat. Ignacio won a prize for the second-best MBS presentation!

  • February 2016

  • Lab outing at Rodeo Austin -- where Weird meets Western!

  • Max and Yoori pubish a Nature Communications manuscript on eukaryotic mismatch repair.

  • September 2015

  • Stephen is awarded top prize for his poster on aging in fission yeast at the annual ICMB retreat!

  • August 2015

  • Congratulations to Yoori for being awarded the prestigious HHMI International Student Research Fellowship!
    CSSB press release
    College of Natural Sciences press release
    HHMI press release

  • Andrew Leal is leaving the lab to improve wafer production at the Samsung microfabrication facility. Good luck on your new job!

  • Prof. Cagri Savran is wrapping up his Sabbatical and will return to his lab at Purdue University.

  • June 2015

  • Max Brown hosts middle school students as part of the Freshman Research Initiative Shadow-A-Scientist program. In addition to learning about the work of a scientist, the students purify DNA from strawberries!

  • The lab welcomes Brianna Gonzalez, who will be helping us create plasmids and constructs for both single-cell and single-molecule studies.

  • Fatema is awarded the prestigious Undergraduate Research Fellowship and the Freshman Research Initiative CNS summer fellowship. Congratulations!

  • IJF is awarded a CNS Catalyst grant to explore new ways for merging next-gen DNA sequencing and high-throughput single-molecule biophysics.

  • May 2015

  • Jim Rybarski graduates with a B.S. in Biochemistry. Jim will be staying with us as a research scientist as he continues to crush science!

  • Kaylee Dillard joins the lab to study how DNA-binding enzymes locate their targets rapidly and with high fidelity.

  • March 2015

  • IJF is awarded an NSF CAREER award to study mechanisms of genome maintenance.

    CNS press release

  • February 2015

  • Logan Myler will be presenting a short talk on our work with EXO1 at the Mammalian DNA Repair Gordon Research Conference. Congratulations!

  • Dr. Stephen Jones joins the lab as a postdoctoral scientist. Stephen's graduate work at Brown University focused on understanding the mating rituals of pathogenic yeasts.

  • May 2014

  • Jim Rybarski joins the lab to work on the mechanisms of aging in fission yeast.

  • April 2014

  • Logan Myler was awarded an award for the best short talk at the annual Molecular BioSciences retreat. Great work!

  • September 2012

  • Dr. Ignacio Gallardo joins the lab. Welcome Nacho!

  • August 2012

  • Greg Hild joins the lab as lab manager, technician and espresso connoisseur. Welcome Greg!

  • July 2012

  • Ilya Finkelstein receives the NIH Pathway to Independence R00 award.

  • Ilya Finkelstein is named a CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research.

    The CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research program recruits exceptional researchers to Texas universities and/or cancer research institutions to enhance innovative programs of excellence in the state by providing scientific and programmatic support for promising first-time, tenure-track faculty, as well as rising stars and established outstanding investigators.